MIAAA Committees

Annual Conference
Chairpersons: Chuck Nurek, Retired & Bill Mick, Retired

Annual Conference Program
Development of the Mid Winter Conference program, always looking for topics and speakers that are current for our members:  contact Karen Leinaar at karenleinaar@gmail.com
Chairperson: Karen Leinaar, CAA Bear Lake

Collects, evaluates, and recommends members for MIAAA designated awards; Athletic Director of the Year, Distinguished Service Award, Dedicated Service Award, and Regional Athletic Director of the Year.
Chairpersons: Bernie Larson, CAA, Retired & David Feldman, CAA, Marian



Works with other Michigan educational organizations for the continued support and improvement of Educational Athletics.

Chairpersons: Barry Hobrla, CAA, Pewamo Westphalia & Ken Mohney, CMAA, Mattawan

Chairpersons: Pete Ryan, CMAA, Saginaw Heritage & Dave Chrisinske, CAA, Thornapple Kellogg

Interprets the MIAAA constitution. All changes or revisions to the constitution are reviewed by this committee.
Chairpersons: Deb VanKuiken, CMAA, Holly 

Educational Athletics
Develops, maintains, and promotes educational athletics while acknowledging that all people involved in school sports share in providing effective athletic administration.
Chairpersons: Mchael Quinn CMAA, Gibraltar Carlson & Mike Mohn, Delton Kellogg 



Chairpersons: Jeff Kline, CAA, Mt. Morris & Mike Roy, CMAA, Vicksburg &  Tom Flynn, Birmingham Groves

Exemplary Athletic Program
Develops and coordinates the MIAAA Exemplary Athletic Program - a voluntary recognition program for Michigan interscholastic athletic programs that includes an application process, self-assessment, panel review, and site visits.
Chairpersons: Meg Seng, CMAA, Ann Arbor Greenhills & Betty Wroubel, CAA, Pontiac Notre Dame

Five State Exchange
Keeps the communication lines open with the sister states in section four; Illinois, Indiana, Iowa, and Wisconsin.
Chairpersons: Mike Roy, CMAA, Vicksburg

Historical Records
Responsible for record keeping of all events, happenings, and personnel of the MIAAA since its inception as an organization. These listings include items such as past presidents, all award winners, life members, CAA, current officers and committee chairs.
Chairperson: Mike Thayer CMAA, Bay City Western

Middle School/Junior High
Works to address the needs and issues particular to administrators of Middle School and Junior High athletic programs.
Chairpersons: Tom Mecsey, CMAA, Kingsbury & Dr. Bill Taylor, CMAA, Baseline MS

Membership Services
Chairpersons:  John Thompson, CMAA, Brighton & Tom Mecsey CMAA, Kingsbury

NIAAA Liaison
Chairperson: Mike Garvey, CMAA, Kalamazoo Hackett Catholic & Ken Mohney CMAA, Mattawan

Past President
Nominates eligible members to run for the position of recording secretary.
Chairperson: Marc Throop, CMAA, Richland Gull Lake

Position Statement
Coordinates the MIAAA's voice for change and public positions as approved by the Board of Directors and eventually the entire membership.
Chairpersons: Dave Derocher, CMAA, Reese & Jeff Cook, CAA, St. Clair

Professional Development
Coordinates the National Athletic Director Certification Program (CAA) and the National Leadership Training Courses (LTC) for Michigan, offers Continuing Education Unit (SB-CEUs) credit to members at approved MIAAA conferences and programs, contacts and provides support for new Athletic Directors, and provides other professional development services to members.
Chairpersons: Mike Garvey, CMAA, Kalamazoo Hackett Catholic & Fred Smith, CMAA, Buchanan & Ken Mohney, CMAA, Mattawan & Meg Seng, CMAA, Ann Arbor Greenhills

Responsible for publishing a fall, winter and spring issue of the MIAAA newsletter, The Michigan Athletic Director, that is mailed to all athletic directors and contains important MIAAA news and information.
Chairpersons: Dan McShannock, CMAA, Retired & Megan Thayer, CAA, Bishop Foley

Public Relations
Chairperson: Jean LaClair, CMAA, Bronson

Regional Alignment
Annually updates all schools, their leagues, and the regions they are assigned to.
Chairperson: Tim Kluka, Allen Park Cabrini & Mike Quinn CMAA, Gibraltar Carlson

Retirees/Life Membership
Tracks life members, determines Life Membership eligibility of retiring MIAAA members, keeps Life Members informed of MIAAA activities and provides assistance at the Mid-Winter Conference.
Chairperson: Bill Mick, Retired & Gary Oyster, Retired

Responsible for publicizing, selecting, and awarding four scholarships annually to high school students.
Chairperson: Greg Lattig, CMAA, Mason & Chris Ervin, CAA, St. Johns

Works in conjunction with the MHSAA to promote sportsmanship and hold the bi-yearly MHSAA Sportsmanship summit.
Chairperson: Tom Flynn, Birmingham Groves

Strategic Planning
Chairpersons: Dallas Lintner, CMAA, Owosso & Deb VanKuiken, CMAA, Holly

Summer Workshop
Chairpersons: Bill Mick, Retired & Mike Bakker, CMAA, Fenton


Continuous updating the MIAAA website, providing new information and services to the membership
Chairpersons: Karen Leinaar, CAA, Bear Lake & Dave Derocher, CMAA, Reese

Fill out the Committee survey form below to serve as an active member of the organization that works on volunteers.

Related Documents:

Committee Survey Form