top of page
Athlete Concentrating




Seng AD of Year.jpeg

Meg Seng, CMAA (Ann Arbor Greenhills) is a graduate of Maine Township South (Illinois) High School. She earned a bachelor’s degree from Indiana University and holds a master’s degree from Louisiana Tech University. While at Indiana, Meg played on both the volleyball and softball teams and was a member of the 1980 NCAA National runner-up softball team.


Meg served as an assistant softball coach at both Louisiana Tech and Illinois State before arriving in Michigan to take the volleyball and softball head coaching positions at Ann Arbor Huron High School. In 1990, she took a teaching position at Ann Arbor Greenhills and, in 1993, also added volleyball coach and department chair to her job duties. For the past 19 years, Meg has served as the athletic director at Greenhills.


Fred Smith, CMAA, current athletic director at Bangor High School states, “Meg has distinguished herself like few others in the promotion of young women becoming involved in coaching and administration of athletics. She is the model for an athletic administrator to follow and emulate. She knows when to lead and she knows when to lend her support. When I think of an athletic administrator, I think of one who has passion for putting others above self and doing what is best for students and coaches and Meg is the best of our best.”


Meg has taken on numerous leadership positions for the MIAAA and NIAAA. She was the MIAAA Leadership Academy founder and continues to serve as a faculty member. She was an MIAAA board member and the organization’s president in 2015, a Region 13 alternate representative and member of the Public Relations and Educational Athletic committee. Meg is a current co-chair of the exemplary programs committee and chair of the professional development committee. She is an NIAAA mentor cohort member, the NIAAA coaches education committee liaison for Michigan and was a past member of the NIAAA certification committee. She has been an NIAAA delegate assembly member and is a NIAAA certified test administrator. Meg has presented numerous times at NIAAA, MIAAA and MHSAA Women in Sport Leadership conferences and written several NIAAA publications.


Meg has received several honors from the MHSAA and MIAAA. She was the MHSAA Allen W. Bush Award recipient in 2018 and earned MHSAA Women in Sport Leadership Award in 2018. Greenhills was named a 2017 Exemplary Athletic program by the MIAAA under her guidance and is currently an MI Heart-Safe school. Meg received the MIAAA Jack Johnson Award in 2012 and was MIAAA Region 13 Athletic Director of the Year in 2008. She was given the Girl Scouts Leaders and Best Award in 2005, the National Association of Girls and Women in Sport Pathfinder Award in 2004 and was named an NFHS Citation winner in 2020. Meg has been an MHSAA committee member for athletic equity, WISL planning, volleyball, cross country, track and field, soccer, lacrosse, and tennis, small schools, multiple sports task force, classification, volleyball, soccer and basketball officials assignment, plus baseball and softball site selection.


She is an MHSAA Coaches Advancement Program instructor and served on the Sports Medicine Advisory board. She sits on the CHSL executive board, was the Michigan Independent Athletic Conference commissioner and MIAC Captain’s Leadership Luncheon  program chair. Meg currently serves as an advisory member for the Michigan Task Force on Women in Sports, a governor’s task force dedicated to developing policies, programs and  recommended investments to support and promote opportunities for girls and women in sports in Michigan. She is founder and executive director for The Academy for Sports Leadership, a Michigan-based non-profit organization dedicated  to encouraging and training the next generation of female coaches.


1972-73 Dick Maher, Sturgis
1973-74 Clayton Kowalk, Lansing
1974-75 Jim Inman, Hillsdale
1975-76 Jack Cotton, Farmington
1976-77 Don Domke, Westland John Glenn
1977-78 Howard Kraft, Redford Union
1978-79 Walt Bazylewicz, Detroit Parochial
1979-80 Tom McShannock, Muskegon
1980-81 Bob James, Warren
1981-82 Clayton Kowalk, Lansing
1982-83 Jack Johnson, Dearborn
1983-84 Dennis Kiley, Jackson
1984-85 Ron Gulyas, Flat Rock Woodhaven
1985-86 Phil Marazita, Lansing Waverly
1986-87 Richard Snyder, Warren
1987-88 Herb Quade, Benton Harbor
1988-89 Wayne Kellogg, Coldwater
1989-90 Mike Foster, CAA, Richland Gull Lake
1990-91 Richard Ulrich, Rochester
1991-92 Bernie Larson, CAA, B.C. Pennfield
1992-93 Chuck Jones, CAA, Royal Oak
1993-94 Norm Johnson, Bangor
1994-95 Roy A. Allen, Jr., Detroit Public
1995-96 Joe Todey, Essexville Garber

1996-97 Eric Federico, CAA, Trenton
1997-98 Jane Bennett, CMAA, Ann Arbor Huron
1998-99 Chuck Nurek, CAA, Avondale
1999-00 Fred Smith, CMAA, Comstock
2000-01 Dan McShannock, CMAA, Midland Dow
2001-02 Jim Feldkamp, CAA, Troy
2002-03 Tom Rashid, CAA, Detroit CHSL
2003-04 Carl Latora, CMAA, Portage Northern
2004-05 Ken Semelsberg er, CMAA, Port Huron
2005-06 Melanie Miller, CMAA, Lansing Sexton
2006-07 Karen Leinaar, CAA, Benzie Central
2007-08 Jamie Gent, CMAA, Haslett
2008-09 Pete Ryan, CMAA, Saginaw Heritage
2009-10 Vic Michaels, CAA, Detroit CHSL
2010-11 Gary Hice, CAA, Petoskey
2011-12 Michael Roy, CMAA, Vicksburg
2012-13 Rick Schmidt, CAA, Holt
2013-14 Dave Chrisinske, CAA, Thornapple Kellogg
2014-15 Deb VanKuiken, CMAA, Holly
2015-16 Michael Garvey, CMAA, Hackett
2016-17 Chris Ervin, CAA, St. Johns
2017-18 Ken Mohney, CMAA, Matawan
2018-19 Marc Hage, CMAA, Livonia Churchill

2019-20 Betty Wroubel, CAA, Notre Dame Prep

2020-21 Mike Bakker, CMAA, Fenton High School

bottom of page