top of page
Athlete Concentrating



Hackley - George Lovich Photo.jpg

Leroy Hackley Jr., RAA (Muskegon Orchard View), is a graduate of Culpepper County (Va.) High School. He holds a bachelor’s degree in recreation administration from Bethany College and a master’s degree in recreation education from the University of Iowa. Leroy began his career in athletics at Eastern Michigan University as assistant director of recreation and intramurals, before taking the position of director of recreation, health and wellness at Grand Valley State University for 14 years. He then transitioned into high school athletics, taking the athletic director position at Byron Center High School. Leroy spent five years at Byron Center before moving on to Jenison High School (seven years), Grant High School (three) and Muskegon Orchard View, where he has served the past eight years.


Tim Ritsema, athletic director at Jenison, writes, “If you know Leroy, you know him to be an ambassador for kids! Leroy is a man who everyone loves and respects for the way he has impacted high school athletics for over 30 years. His personality is infectious, his enthusiasm for life is second to none and his willingness to go above and beyond has set himself apart from all others. Leroy’s network of people he has impacted is incredibly far-reaching and he has left a huge footprint for everyone to follow. High school athletics in Michigan wouldn’t be the same without Leroy’s dedication and love for all involved.  Leroy Hackley embodies what the George Lovich Award is all about and I couldn’t think of anyone better and more deserving to win this well-deserved award.”


Leroy is an accomplished official at the MHSAA, NAIA, NCAA and MCCAA levels. He officiated three MHSAA basketball state finals games, as well as the NAIA and NCAA Division II championships. He served on the MHSAA representative council for four years and has been a member of the MHSAA basketball and volleyball site selection, the basketball, football and basketball officials selection, classification, equity and volleyball and basketball rules committees. Leroy is a past recipient of the MHSAA Charles E. Forsythe Award (2020), was the West Michigan Officials Association Athletic Director of the Year (2011), the MIAAA Region 3 Athletic Director of the Year and was the Michigan Intramural and Recreation Sport Association Tom Jones Service Award winner.


He is a board member for the West Michigan Sports Commission, the Grand Rapids YMCA and a nine-year member of the board of directors for Bethany College. He has also served as an adjunct professor for Muskegon Community College, Grand Valley State University and Aquinas College. Leroy has been married to Barb for 42 years and they have three sons and three grandchildren.


1988 Don Domke, Westland John Glenn
1989 James Czanko, East Kentwood
1990 Bernie Larson, CAA, B.C. Pennfield
1991 John Fundukian, CAA, Novi
1992 Chuck Jones, CAA, Royal Oak
1993 Joe Todey, Essexville Garber
1994 Dan Brouse, CAA, Monroe
1995 George Lovich, Livonia
1996 Dan McShannock, CMAA, Midland Dow
1997 Jane Bennett, CMAA, Ann Arbor Huron
1998 Ralph Kenyon, CMAA, B.C. Harper Creek
1999 Tom Rashid, CAA, Detroit Catholic League
2000 Jack Johnson, Dearborn
2001 Dave Price, CMAA, Rockford
2002 Bill Mick, Midland
2003 Blake Hagman, CAA, Kalamazoo

2004 Chuck Nurek, CAA, Avondale
2005 Steve Marsh, CAA, Midland
2006 Jim Feldkamp, CAA, Troy
2007 Fred Smith, CMAA, Comstock
2008 Gary Hice, CAA, Petoskey
2009 Mike Garvey, CMAA, Delton Kellogg
2010 James Gilmore, Tecumseh
2011 Deb VanKuiken, CMAA, Holly
2012 Karen Leinaar, CAA, Bear Lake
2013 Jamie Gent, CMAA, Haslett
2014 Marc Hage, CMAA, Livonia Churchill
2015 John Thompson, CMAA, Brighton
2016 Carl Arkema, CAA, Ravenna
2017 Michael Thayer, CMAA, Bay City Western
2018 Sal Malek, CAA, Academy of the Sacred Heart
2019 Jean LaClair, CMAA, Bronson

2020 Tim Ritsema, CAA, Jenison

2021 Marty Gottesman, Bay City Schools and SVL

2022 Betty Wroubel, CAA, Notre Dame Prep

bottom of page