top of page
Athlete with Net


Application and Self-Assessment Information

Program Purpose
The Michigan Interscholastic Athletic Administrators Association's (MIAAA) Exemplary Athletic Program was established in 1998. Its purposes are fourfold: (1) to identify and give public recognition to our outstanding athletic programs statewide; (2) to provide a framework that encourages high school athletic administrators throughout the state to voluntarily engage in a self-assessment and comparison of their current program to a set of established exemplary criteria; (3) to facilitate communication and a sharing of best practices throughout our state; and (4) to encourage continued improvement in our state's high school athletic programs.

MIAAA exemplary programs model excellence and equity. They all provide for what is best in educationally sound high school athletics. There is a strong, district-wide commitment to athletic excellence for all of the school's student-athletes. The athletic program's success in advancing the emotional, social, moral and physical growth of all of its participants is a basic foundation of the recognition criteria. In awarding exemplary status to our state's athletic programs, the MIAAA looks to recognize schools where sustained successes in teaching the values of high school athletics are evident.

The quality of each program will be judged by comparing the standards of excellence to the school's goals (vision statement) and the processes that have been put in place to meet those goals. To what extent is the athletic program serving its various constituents (athletes, staff, parents and patrons)? An exemplary school's athletic program continually strives to meet and exceed the needs of all student-athletes.

Exemplary athletic programs offer growth opportunities for athletes that meet or exceed the highest standards of the MIAAA, MHSAAA, leagues or conferences and their local school boards.

Conceptual Basis for the MIAAA Exemplary Athletic Program
The MIAAA established a blue ribbon committee in 1997 to study the possibility of providing an awards program to recognize our state's exemplary programs. Reports were made by this committee to the membership in the summer of 1997 and 1998 and also at the annual winter conference in 1998. The MIAAA board of directors wholeheartedly supports the concept of recognizing and awarding our outstanding programs on a state-wide basis.

With that charge, a proposal was brought forth by the MIAAA Exemplary Athletic Program advisory committee to the MIAAA membership in 1998 to pilot such a program during the 1999-2000 school year.


YEAR             SCHOOL                                                   ATHLETIC DIRECTOR

2000               Gull Lake High School                              Marc Throop, CMAA

2000               Port Huron High School                            Ken Semelsberger, CMAA

2000               Greenville High School                             Brian Zdanowski, CMAA

2000               Okemos High School                                Keith Froelich, CAA

2000               Schoolcraft High School                           Ted Manning, CAA

2000               Swartz Creek High School                       Tim Bearden, CAA

2001               Shelby High School                                  Steve Guy, CAA

2001               Troy High School                                      Jim Johnson, CAA

2002               H.H. Dow High School                              Dan McShannock, CMAA

2002               Troy Athens High School                          Bob Dowd, CAA

2003               Grosse Pointe North                                 Chris Clark, CAA

2003               Saginaw Heritage High School                 Pete Ryan, CMAA/Jim Noble, CMAA

2004               Grosse Pointe South High School            Matt Outlaw

2005               Leslie High School                                    Scott Farley

2005               Mattawan High School                              Ken Mohney, CMAA

2006               Midland High School                                 Bob Scurfield, CAA

2007               Novi High School                                      Curt Ellis, CAA

2008               Fruitport High School                                Ken Erny, CAA

2009               Notre Dame Prep High School                 Betty Wroubel, CAA

2011               Constantine High School                          Mike Messner, CAA

2012               Grand Haven High School                        Robin Bye

2016               Brighton High School                                John Thompson, CMAA

2016               Calumet High School                                Sean Jacques, CAA

2017               Cranbrook Kingswood School                   Stephen Graf, CAA

2017               Greenhills School                                      Meg Seng, CMAA

2018               East Grand Rapids                                    Tim Johnston, CAA

2019               Jenison High School                                  Tim Ritsema, CAA

2020               Vicksburg High School                               Michael Roy, CMAA

2023               Spring Lake High School                           JT Hogan, RAA

bottom of page