top of page
Athlete Concentrating



Gordon - Jack Johnson.png

Brian Gordon, CAA (Royal Oak) is a graduate of Clawson High School.  He holds a bachelor’s degree from Central Michigan University in education along with a master’s degree from Wayne State University in sports administration.


Brian has spent 32 years in educational athletics. For 20 years, he was a teacher and coach for Royal Oak Schools, teaching and serving as the department chair for physical education and health while also coaching JV football, freshmen basketball, and varsity baseball. Brian spent two years as the athletic director and assistant principal at Royal Oak High School before taking the athletic director job at Novi, where he spent nine years. This past year, Brian returned to Royal Oak as the athletic director while also serving as a liaison for the Special Olympics of Michigan, helping to promote Unified Sports.


Marc Hage, CMAA, athletic director at Livonia Churchill High School, said, “Brian has always had the best interests of students in mind, concerning all of his educational endeavors. He works very conscientiously with both his students and his athletes toward the directed end of a positive and successful experience for each. The respect with which he treats both students and colleagues is unparalleled. The MIAAA and Mr. Gordon have developed a mutual respect for each other, based largely upon his sincerity, kindness and genuine enjoyment of his occupation. He is one of the most looked up to and respected individuals in the MIAAA.”


A 10-year board member of the Michigan High School Baseball Coaches Association, Brian served as president of the Oakland County Athletic Directors Association, president of the Kensington Conference, vice president of the KLAA and as a member of more than a dozen MHSAA committees. He has presented at the MIAAA annual conference for several years, was the chairperson for the Michigan High School Baseball Coaches Association Hall of Fame and is a MHSAA CAP instructor.


While at Novi and along with Brighton High School, Brian was responsible for the Unified Sport movement, including hosting the first of its kind KLAA Unified Basketball Tournament. As a baseball coach, he was a five-time District Coach of the Year, two-time Regional Coach of the Year, the Detroit News Metro Coach of the Year, the Oakland County Coach of the Year, a Royal Oak Schools Distinguished Coach and was inducted into the Michigan High School Baseball Coaches Association Hall of Fame in 2011. Brian was a 2018 MIAAA Regional Athletic Director of the Year, a 2019 recipient of the MHSAA Allen W. Bush Award, a Unified Champion Schools Award (Michigan Special Olympics) recipient while at Novi and was recently inducted into the Michigan High School Coaches Association Hall of Fame in 2021.


Brian is married to his  wife Jil, and has two children, McKenzie and Zachary.


1983 (†) Mrs. Helen Geovanes, Secretary for MHSAA
1984 (*) Al Bush, Executive Director of MHSAA
1985 (†) Hal Schram, Free Press Sports Reporter
1986 (†) Dick Kishpaugh, Historian of HS Athletics
1987 (†) Bruce Redman, President, Redman’s Awards
1988 (*) Walt Bazylewicz, Parochial Schools Service
1989 (†) Jack Moss, Sportswriter
1990 (*) Vern Norris, Executive Director of MHSAA
1991 (*) Richard Maher, WBA Ruster Foundation
1992 (*) Dennis Kiley, AD, Jackson Schools
1993 (*) Dr. Robert Murray, Trenton Public Schools
1994 (*) Warren McKenzie, Asst. Director of MHSAA
1995 (*) Lyndon L. Cronen, First Agency Inc.
1996 (*) Robert “Doc” Stevens, B C Sports Medicine
1997 (*) Judy Hagman, ‘Mrs. A.D.’ Role Model
1998 (*) Dennis Kniola, AD, Stephensville Lakeshore
1999 (*) Jerome Cvengros, Assoc. Director of MHSAA
2000 (*) Dave Dye, WBA Ruster Foundation
2001 (*) John Dudley, ‘Mr. Swimming Meet Manager’
2002 (*) Joe Mahan, Announcer, Timer & Scorer

2003 (*) Dr. Larry Ulmer, Kalamazoo Area Schools
2004 (*) Suzanne Mart in, Asst. Director of MHSAA
2005 (*) Russ Waldo, Visual Sports Network
2005 (*) Robert a Workema, Grand Traverse Resort
2006 (*) Georg e Lovich, Exec. Director of MIAAA
2007 (*) Jean Bell, Midland Dow
2008 (*) Steve Marsh, Midland Schools
2008 (*) Bill Mick, Midland Schools
2009 (*) Hugh Matson, CAA, Saginaw Heritage
2010 (*) Bernie Larson, CAA, B.C. Pennfield
2011 (*) Dan McShannock, CAA, Midland Dow
2012 (*) Meg Seng, CMAA, Ann Arbor Greenhills
2013 (*) Jan Sander, Warren Woods
2014 (*) Ken Mohney, CMAA, Mattawan
2015 (*) Lori Hyman, CMAA, Livonia Stevenson
2016 (*) Gary Oyster, Lapeer
2017 (*) Wayne Welton, Chelsea
2018 (*) Chris Ceresa, CAA, Huron Valley
2019 (*) Tim Kluka, CAA, Allen Park Cabrini

2020 (*) John E. "Jack" Roberts, Executive Director of MHSAA

2021 (*) James Okler, CMAA, Grosse Ile

bottom of page